Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Stars arrive in Perth for the Jandakot Airport Track Classic

Stars arrive in Perth for the Jandakot Airport Track Classic

Author: waadmin/Friday, 15 March 2019/Categories: News, Featured

Track and field stars from around the country are landing in Perth with just one day until the Jandakot Airport Track Classic. With excitement building and final preparations underway, we take a closer look at our athlete line up for this Saturday night.

As a State well-versed in class pole vault competition, it’s no surprise some of the country’s best will be taking to the runway on Saturday Night.  Opening the action will be the VenuesWest Women’s Pole Vault, where Commonwealth Games Bronze medallist Nina Kennedy (WA) who boasts a personal best of 4.71m. Nina will be vaulting off a short approach as part of her preparations towards the IAAF World Championships in Doha later this year.

Later in the VenuesWest Men’s Pole Vault, Declan Carruthers will lead the charge, both holding personal bests of 5.61m. IAAF Continental Cup representative Stephen Clough (PB 5.40m) and Commonwealth Games representative Angus Armstrong (5.52m) will also be in action, alongside junior star Sasha Zhoya, who is fresh off a personal best of 5.32m.

The Women’s Long Jump will be a great competition between 2018 Commonwealth Games teammates Brooke Stratton (VIC) and Queensland’s Naa Anang (QLD). In 2016, Stratton set the Australian Record in Perth, with a huge leap of 7.05m and will be looking for a good performance on Saturday.

Another 2018 Commonwealth Games star in action is bronze medallist Nicola McDermott, who will be a clear favourite in the Women’s High Jump. McDermott’s leap of 1.94m in Canberra last month moved her to 6th place on the Australian All-Time list. In the Men’s event Grant Szalek will be looking to continue the fine form that has seen him set new personal bests and World University Games qualifying performances of 2.20m and 2.21m recently.

World University Games bronze medallist Ian Dewhurst will have his sights set on a World Championship Qualifying time in the Men’s 400m Hurdles, with a current season’s best of 50.6 and a personal best of 49.52.

The Women’s 100m B race will feature WA’s Para stars, with Ella Pardy (T38) and Rhiannon Clarke (T/F38). Both athletes have World Championships Qualifiers to their names already, and will be looking for some fast times in Perth’s renown sprinting conditions.

In the Men’s 100m, the stage is set for a great race, with Jack Hale running a windy 10.12 in Perth just weeks ago will line up against junior star Jake Doran who holds a personal bests of 10.15. WA’s fastest man, Aaron Bresland will also be in the mix alongside Olympian Alex Hartmann.

2018 Commonwealth Games representative Christopher Mitrevski and 2015 IAAF World Youth silver medallist Darcy Roper will face off in the men’s long jump, with both men holding a personal best of 8.01m.

The Men’s Javelin will see 2018 Commonwealth Games silver medallist Hamish Peacock compete against local star Cruz Hogan, in what’s set to be a highlight of the Jandakot Airport Track Classic. The Men’s field will throw alongside the Women’s field, where IAAF World Under 20 Championships representative Lara Ilievski will be in action.

Local junior star Adam Kopp will be competing in the men’s 400m, against South Australia’s Clay Watkins. The 2018 IAAF World Under 20 representative will have a great race ahead of him, with Watkins holding a personal best of 45.95 to Kopp’s 47.53.

The VenuesWest Women’s 800m race will present a competitive race between Victoria’s Georgia Griffith and Morgan Mitchell, both holding impressive personal bests of 2:00.13 and 2:03.93 respectively. Mitchell, who has recently made the switch from 400m to 800m, holds a personal best of 51.25 in the 400m and undoubtedly will have a strong kick if it comes to a sprint finish. Griffith and Mitchell are joined by reigning WA State Champion Bernadette Williams and Kayla van der Linden, who recently broke the U16 State Record in the event.

In the Herb Elliot Mile, WA’s own Matthew Ramsden will be the athlete to watch after recently winning the revived Australian Mile Championship and boasting a personal best of 3:58.79.

2018 Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Nicholas Hough will compete in the men’s 110m hurdles, against New South Wales’s Nicholas Andrews, who has a personal best of 13.79. Jacob McCory will likely be in the mix after a close race at the NSW State Championships last weekend with only 0.06 separating the trio.

Olympian Matthew Denny will be competing in the Men’s Discus, holding an impressive personal best of 65.37m. The Para Discus will run concurrently, with World Championships representative Daniel Kirk (F44) lining up against World Championships bronze medallist Sarah Edminston (F44) who has been in fine form recently, and Australian U18 Para F12 Record Holder Jackson Hamilton (F12).

The Men’s 200m has a strong start list with Olympian Alex Hartmann set to match up against junior star Jake Doran. WA’s State Champion Aaron Bresland will also be lining up in the men’s 200m.

The final event of the night, the VenuesWest Men’s 800m will be the one to watch with an outstanding start list. Featuring Australian 800m record holder Joseph Deng, 2018 Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Luke Matthews, Olympian Peter Bol and World Championships representative Joshua Ralph taking to the track. The pace will be set by Hun Hitake from Japan, who will be sure to set up a great race between Australia’s best 800m runners.

Don’t miss an amazing night of athletics at the Jandakot Airport Track Classic. Tickets are still available to purchase online through Ticketek or at the gate on the night and tickets for children 12 years and under are free. Gates open at 5pm on Saturday 16 March, with the first event commencing at 5:30pm.

Athletes need to enter through the Athlete Entry, and can collect a pass for their coach at this check-in point. For further athlete information visit the Athletics Australia website.

Final Timetable and full Start Lists are now available here.


Number of views (1046)/Comments (0)

News Categories