Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Rodgers and Dale win State 10,000m Titles and DM Shield continues with Series 2

Rodgers and Dale win State 10,000m Titles and DM Shield continues with Series 2

Author: waadmin/Monday, 19 November 2018/Categories: News, Featured

The John Gilmour State 10,000m Championship was contested on Friday night, with Chris Dale (Perth Track and Field Club, coached by Craig Mottram) producing 31:00.58 to win the men’s title and Rochelle Rodgers (Front Runner Athletics Club, coached by Raf Baugh) taking out the women’s title in 36:34.92. Congratulations to all athletes and their coaches.


The evening kicked off with the Block Starts Transition Clinic with Lyn Foreman and Steeplechase Transition Clinic with Suzi Graves. These clinics are a great opportunity for junior athletes to improve their skills in a range of events. The next Transition Clinics will be Pole Vault and Long Hurdles - stay tuned to our website for further details.


Friday night’s competition also marked the second series of the Douglas Memorial Shield held in conjunction with Program C. Point scoring events for the second series included the 200m, 400m Hurdles, Javelin, Women’s High Jump and the sprint medley relay.  


The 200m was the most popular 'Power Play' choice, with WA’s fastest man Aaron Bresland earning maximum points (50) for Perth Track and Field Club, followed by Conor Larranaga Boyle who secured 36 points for Cockburn Athletics Club. In the women’s 200m, Taylah Cruttenden finished second out of the DM Shield competitors behind UWA’s Sophie White and earned the double points for West Track.  


Curtin’s Virginia Stasyszyn impressed in the Javelin throw to earn 50 points, whilst Alanah Yukich edged out fellow club member Annie Leszczynska in the 400mH to take the win and earn maximum points for UWA.


The DM Shield events were rounded out with an exciting race in the men’s medley relay. PTFC’s Mark Midgley received the baton ahead of UWA’s Alain Dutton, and managed to hold him off in a close battle to the line to win by 0.17.


UWA lead the DM Shield with 460 points, followed by Curtin Athletics Club with 334, Perth Track and Field Club with 264, Cockburn Athletics Club with 199 and West Track with 166. Download the DM Shield point scores following Series 2 here.


In other action on the track, Brandon Ford (Joondalup Track Club) ran a stellar 3000m, producing 8:31.63 and breaking the State U16 Record previously held by Ben Chamberlain. Congratulations to Brandon and coach Paul Heywood. 


The DM Shield continues this Sunday morning with clubs able to score points in the 100m, 100mH/100mH, Triple Jump and mixed 4x200m relay.



Number of views (629)/Comments (0)

News Categories